0%
Fear Greed
A new take on the well known "CNN Fear & Greed Index". 10 interactive charts that enable you to truly understand market outlook, sentiment and make buy and sell decisions.
Welcome to the modern version of the "CNN Fear & Greed Index". Using state-of-the-art sentiment indicators and key technical core analysis, you can easily understand and assess the state of anxiety and greed in current US equity markets and their implications for global economic activity.

Fear = Selling = More Supply of Stocks for Sale = Stock Price Decreases

Greed = Buying = More Demand for Stocks = Stock Price Increases

Here we take the S&P500 weekly chart and plot a 9-period moving average over it. The price line is the thicker blue line, the moving average is the thinner line. When the price is above the moving average indicator this is bullish, meaning the main price trend is up, therefore investors are greedy.

How does the S&P 500 Chart work?
When the price line is below the moving average this indicates fear. As we are using a weekly line chart we are estimating the long-term trend of the market, this helps you make better long-term investing decisions.

S&P 500 Weekly:
Fear = Price < MAGreed = Price > MA

The Chicago Board of Options Exchange (CBOE) Volatility Index (VIX) measures fear by comparing the price volatility of Put Options versus Call Options. Put Options are purchased when a market participant believes the stock price will go down, this protects there assets, like an insurance. The Call Option is purchased when a trader believes that the stock price is going up. Ultimately the index measures the volatility of those prices. A low VIX price indicates the market is good and stock prices will continue on their normal upward trajectory.

How does the VIX Fear Gauge work?
A high VIX price above 20 indicates that more Put contacts are being purchased and that the investors are fearful and covering their trades with downside insurance.

CBOE Volatility Index:
>30 = Fear< 20 = Greed

The Advance Decline Ratio is the number of stocks with a price increase for the day divided by the number of stocks with a price decline for the day. Price is ultimately the decider of fear and greed and rising stock prices mean people are feeling bullish.

How does the NYSE A/D Ratio work?
A ratio of 1 means that there was one advancing stock for every 1 declining stock. Above 2 means that that the market is in greed mode with 2 stocks rising to every 1 falling.

NYSE A/D Ratio:
<1 = Fear> 2 = Greed

Financial stress is defined as interruptions to the normal functioning of the financial markets. This important leading indicator is published monthly and give valuable insight into investor stress in the financial markets. Measures include TED spread, Swap spread, Stock Bond Correlation, Bank Stock Volatility and more..

How does the Financial Stress Index work?
When the value line is above zero or positive, this indicates that financial stress is above the historic average (fear). A value below zero indicates normal functioning of the markets (greed). A value above 0.8 typically indicates severe stress and fear in the markets, this occurred back in 1999 and 2007.

Kansas City Financial Stress Index:
Extreme Fear = Price > 1Greed = Price < 0

The American Association of Independent Investors (AAII) Investor Sentiment Survey measures the percentage of individual investors who are bullish, bearish, and neutral on the stock market for the next six months; individuals are polled from the ranks of the AAII membership on a weekly basis. On the chart the central horizontal line represents the average bullish sentiment over the period, 0.35 means 35% of investors possed were optimistic that the stock market would rise over the next six months.

How does AAII Sentiment work?
This indicator is best used as a contrary indicator when sentiment is extremely high it is an indication to sell, and when extremely low and an indication to buy stocks. As Warren Buffet says “be fearful when others are greedy and greedy when others are fearful”.

AAII Sentiment Indicator:
Historical Average 0.36 – Fear < 0.25Greed > 0.50

The US unemployment rate is the percentage of the unemployed population. This is a trailing indicator, that means, it generally rises or falls in the face of changing economic conditions rather than foreseeing them. If the economy is in poor condition and jobs are scarce, the unemployment rate is expected to increase. If the economy grows strongly and there are relatively many jobs, a decline is to be expected.

How does the US unemployment rate work?
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) publishes employment figures in the US as part of its monthly report. An increase in the 9-period moving average may be a sign of a recession. 

US Unemployment Rate:
Fear = Rate > MA – Greed = Rate < MA

Technical Sentiment

In addition to the fear and greed indicators we have above, TradingView has very cleverly implemented a Buy-Sell Gauge based on technical analysis. Technical Analysis is based on the principle of evaluating the market direction using stock price and volume to determine underlying supply and demand. This is a much better indicator than for example the AAII Sentiment indicator because, as we know most investors are wrong at key points in major market turns. The buy-sell indicators are based on 26 different well established technical indicators:

How do the Buy Sell Technical Indicators work?
When any of the above technical indicators is clearly a buy or a sell it counts as 1 point. When it is unclear is counts as neutral.

Moving Averages

  • 6 Simple Moving Averages with timeframes 10, 20, 30, 50, 100, 200
  • 6 Exponential Moving Averages 10, 20, 30, 50, 100, 200
  • Ichimoku Cloud (9, 26, 52, 26)
  • Volume Weighted Moving Average (20)
  • Hull Moving Average (9)

Oscillator Indicators

  • Relative Strength Index (14)
  • Stochastics %K (14, 3, 3)
  • Commodity Channel Index CCI (20)
  • Average Directional Index (14)
  • Awesome Oscillator
  • Momentum (10)
  • Moving Average Convergence Divergence MACD (12, 27)
  • Stochastic RSI Fast (3, 3, 14, 14)
  • Williams Percent Range (14)
  • Bull Bear Power
  • Ultimate Oscillator (7, 14, 28unten
S&P 500 Index
NASDAQ 100 Index
Dow Jones 30 Index
DJ 20 Transp. Index

0%
Fear Greed
Eine neue Version des bekannten “CNN Fear & Greed Index” für Angst und Gier. 10 interaktive Diagramme, mit denen du die Marktaussichten und -stimmung einfach verstehen kannst.
Willkommen in der modernen Version des “CNN Fear & Greed Index”. Mithilfe moderner Stimmungsindikatoren und wichtiger technischer Kernanalysen kannst du den Zustand von Angst und Gier an den aktuellen US-Aktienmärkten und somit auch deren Auswirkungen auf das Globale Wirtschaftsgeschehen leicht verstehen und bewerten.

Fear (Angst) = Verkauf = Weniger Nachfrage nach Aktien = Aktienkurse sinken

Greed (Gier) = Kaufen = Mehr Nachfrage nach Aktien = Aktienkurse steigen

Hier nehmen wir den S&P 500 Wochenchart und zeichnen einen gleitenden Durchschnitt von 9 Perioden darüber. Die Preislinie ist die dickere blaue Linie, der gleitende Durchschnitt ist die dünnere Linie. Wenn der Preis über dem gleitenden Durchschnitt liegt, ist dies bullisch, was bedeutet, dass der Hauptpreistrend aufwärts gerichtet ist, weshalb die Anleger positiv gestimmt sind und gieriger werden.

Wie funktioniert der S&P 500 Chart?
Wenn die Preislinie unter dem gleitenden Durchschnitt liegt, deutet dies auf Angst hin. Da wir ein wöchentliches Liniendiagramm verwenden, schätzen wir den langfristigen Trend des Marktes. Dies hilft dir dabei, bessere langfristige Investitionsentscheidungen zu treffen.

S&P 500 Weekly:
Fear = Price < MAGreed = Price > MA

Der Volatilitätsindex (VIX) der Chicago Board of Options Exchange (CBOE) misst die Angst, indem er die Preisvolatilität von Put-Optionen mit Call-Optionen vergleicht. Put-Optionen werden gekauft, wenn ein Marktteilnehmer glaubt, dass der Aktienkurs sinken wird. Dies schützt seine Vermögenswerte wie eine Versicherung. Die Call Option wird gekauft, wenn ein Händler glaubt, dass der Aktienkurs steigt. Letztendlich misst der Index die Volatilität dieser Preise. Ein niedriger VIX-Preis zeigt an, dass der Markt gut ist und die Aktienkurse ihren normalen Aufwärtstrend fortsetzen werden.

Wie funktioniert das VIX Volatilitätsindex?
Ein hoher VIX-Preis über 20 zeigt an, dass mehr Put-Kontakte gekauft werden und dass die Anleger Angst haben und ihre Geschäfte mit einer Abwärtsversicherung abdecken.

CBOE Volatility Index:
>30 = Fear< 20 = Greed

Das Advance Decline Ratio der New Yorker Börse ist die Anzahl der Aktien mit einem Kursanstieg für den Tag geteilt durch die Anzahl der Aktien mit einem Kursrückgang für den Tag. Der Preis entscheidet letztendlich über Angst und Gier und steigende Aktienkurse sorgen dafür, dass sich die Menschen optimistisch fühlen.

Wie funktioniert das NYSE A/D-Ratio?
Ein Verhältnis < 1 bedeutet, dass für jeden fallenden Bestand ein Vorratsbestand vorhanden war. Über 2 bedeutet, dass sich der Markt im Gier-Modus befindet und 2 Aktien mit jeweils einer fallenden Aktien steigen.

NYSE A/D Ratio:
<1 = Fear> 2 = Greed

Finanzieller Stress ist definiert als Unterbrechung des normalen Funktionierens der Finanzmärkte. Dieser wichtige Frühindikator wird monatlich veröffentlicht und gibt wertvolle Einblicke in den Stress der Anleger an den Finanzmärkten. Zu den Kennzahlen zählen TED-Spread, Swap-Spread, Aktienkorrelation, Bankaktienvolatilität und mehr.

Wie funktioniert der Financial Stress Index?
Wenn die Wertelinie über Null oder positiv ist, bedeutet dies, dass die finanzielle Belastung über dem historischen Durchschnitt liegt (Angst). Ein Wert unter Null zeigt ein normales Funktionieren der Märkte an (Gier). Ein Wert über 0,8 weist in der Regel auf starke Belastungen und Ängste an den Märkten hin, die bereits in den Jahren 1999 und 2007 aufgetreten sind.

Kansas City Financial Stress Index:
Extreme Fear = Price > 1Greed = Price < 0

Die Investor Sentiment Survey der American Association of Independent Investors (AAII) misst den Prozentsatz der einzelnen Anleger, die für die nächsten sechs Monate bullisch, bärisch und börsenneutral sind. Einzelpersonen werden wöchentlich aus den Reihen der AAII-Mitglieder befragt. In der Grafik stellt die blaue Linie die durchschnittliche bullische Stimmung im Berichtszeitraum dar. 0,35 bedeutet, dass 35% der Anleger optimistisch waren, dass der Aktienmarkt in den nächsten sechs Monaten steigen würde.

Wie funktioniert das AAII Sentiment?
Dieser Indikator misst die “Stimmung” wird am besten als Kontraindikator verwendet. Wenn der Wert extrem hoch ist, kann dies ein Indikator für den Verkauf von Aktien und ein Indikator für den Kauf von Aktien sein, wenn er extrem niedrig ist. Wie Warren Buffet sagt: “Sei ängstlich, wenn andere gierig sind, und gierig, wenn andere ängstlich sind”.

AAII Sentiment Indicator:
Historical Average 0.36 – Fear < 0.25Greed > 0.50

Die US Arbeitslosenquote ist der prozentuale Anteil der arbeitslosen Bevölkerung. Dies ist ein nachlaufender Indikator, d.h. er steigt oder fällt im Allgemeinen im Zuge sich ändernder wirtschaftlicher Bedingungen, anstatt sie vorherzusehen. Wenn die Wirtschaft in einem schlechten Zustand ist und die Arbeitsplätze knapp sind, ist mit einem Anstieg der Arbeitslosenquote zu rechnen. Wenn die Wirtschaft kräftig wächst und es relativ viele Arbeitsplätze gibt, ist mit einem Rückgang zu rechnen.

Wie funktioniert die US Arbeitslosenquote?
Das Bureau of Labour Statistics (BLS) veröffentlich im Rahmen seines monatlichen Berichts die Zahlen zur Beschäftigungssituation in den USA. Ein Anstieg des gleitenden Durchschnitt von 9 Perioden kann ein Anzeichen einer Rezession sein.

US Unemployment Rate:
Fear = Rate > MA – Greed = Rate < MA

Technical Sentiment

Zusätzlich zu den oben gezeigten Indikatoren für Angst und Gier hat TradingView eine Buy-Sell-Anzeige basierend auf technischer Analyse implementiert. Die technische Analyse basiert auf dem Prinzip der Bewertung der Marktrichtung anhand des Aktienkurses und des Volumens, um das zugrunde liegende Angebot und die zugrunde liegende Nachfrage zu bestimmen. Dies ist ein viel besserer Indikator als zum Beispiel der AAII-Stimmungsindikator, da bekanntlich die meisten Anleger an wichtigen Punkten in wichtigen Marktumschwüngen falsch liegen. Die Buy-Sell-Indikatoren basieren auf 26 verschiedenen, technischen Indikatoren:

Wie funktionieren die technischen Kauf- und Verkaufsindikatoren?
Wenn einer der genannten technischen Indikatoren eindeutig ein Kauf oder Verkauf ist, zählt er als 1 Punkt. Wenn es unklar ist, gilt dies als neutral.

Moving Averages

  • 6 Simple Moving Averages with timeframes 10, 20, 30, 50, 100, 200
  • 6 Exponential Moving Averages 10, 20, 30, 50, 100, 200
  • Ichimoku Cloud (9, 26, 52, 26)
  • Volume Weighted Moving Average (20)
  • Hull Moving Average (9)

Oscillator Indicators

  • Relative Strength Index (14)
  • Stochastics %K (14, 3, 3)
  • Commodity Channel Index CCI (20)
  • Average Directional Index (14)
  • Awesome Oscillator
  • Momentum (10)
  • Moving Average Convergence Divergence MACD (12, 27)
  • Stochastic RSI Fast (3, 3, 14, 14)
  • Williams Percent Range (14)
  • Bull Bear Power
  • Ultimate Oscillator (7, 14, 28unten
S&P 500 Index
NASDAQ 100 Index
Dow Jones 30 Index
DJ 20 Transp. Index